AROUND AND ABOUT

The Limousin is an unspoilt region of upland pastures, forests and pure fresh water lying to the west of the Auvergne and north of the Périgord and the valley of the Dordogne. Situated in the heart of the Limousin, in the area known as the land of mountains and dams the picturesque Peyrat-le-Château is a quiet little town and an ideal base for exploring the surrounding unspoilt rolling countryside. It is situtated in Haute Vienne one of the three départements which make up the Limousin region, the other two being Creuse and Corrèze. This départment is a region of open countryside where you'll see the famous Limousin cows everywhere and perhaps even the Saint-Yrieix-La-Perche pig, often referred to as the 'cul noir' (black bottom).

PEYRAT-LE-CHÂTEAU

The town itself dates back to the gallo-roman period when it was known as Patriagum. During the Middle Ages it was known as Peyrat-Le-Fort and grew in size under the impetus of the Lusingian barons who built the original castle around the year 1000 AD. During the French Revolution the town was renamed Peyrat-La-Montagne before it became known as Peyrat-Le-Château.

During the 15th century the square tower - one of the five gateways to the medieval town - was rebuilt and now contains the Resistance Museum. The museum has three rooms and traces the history of the resistance movement and its local leader, George Guingouin.

When the town was founded Peyrat had two churches; one dedicated to St Martin the other to St Denis, the patron saint of France. The church of St Denis was destroyed in 1793 during the Reign of Terror which immediately followed the French Revolution. The original church of St Martin was destroyed by fire in 1184 and a new parish church was built in 1490. The church was completely restored in 1863 and a new bell tower added in 1893. During July and August there are concerts featuring music from around the world. These are often performed in the gardens of the tower.

The local lake was created by charter dated 16 June 1449 and initially designed as a watering place for animals and a reservoir in case of fires.The lake offers a beach, fishing, boules, a play area for children and a picnic spot. The lake is stocked with trout, pike, carp and tench and is ranked as a first category fishing site. A fortnight's fishing permit in the region costs €32 euros (2010 prices).

There are many old water mills in the area which testify to the ambundance and importance of water in Limousin which makes the surrounding countryside so luscious.

Ramblers will be in their element as there are several hiking trails of varying difficulty and length which start a short distance from our front door. They are clearly marked and maps and guides can be obtained from us or the local tourist office. There are also fantastic cycling routes to suit all ages and levels of stamina in the Limousin. A local equestrian centre offers horse riding for all ages and levels of expertise.

A market is held every Monday, Thursday and Saturday in the main square. The Village has a small supermarket, corner shop, bakers, butchers & deli. There are also Three bars and Three restaurants.

Situated as we are in the centre of the Limousin region we are in easy reach of many sights. We have listed & pictured some of our many favourites on these pages.

click an image to see it larger

AUX ALENTOURS

Le Limousin est une région aux pâturages montagneux, aux fôrets luxuriantes et aux eaux claires et limpides à l'ouest de l'Auvergne et au nord du Périgord et de la vallée de la Dordogne. Situé dans le Coeur du Limousin, au pays des monts et barrages, Peyrat-le-Château est un village pittoresque, tranquille et un point de base idéal pour l'exploration de sa magnifique campagne. Il se trouve en Haute-Vienne, l'un des trois départements du Limousin, les deux autres étant la Creuse et la Corrèze. Ce département a une campagne sans limite où vous y rencontrerez les limousines (les vaches) et 'les culs noirs' (les cochons de St Yriex-la-Perche).

PEYRAT-LE-CHATEAU

Le village lui-même date de la période gallo-romaine s'appellant Patriagum. Pendant le Moyen-Âge, il était connu sous le nom de Peyrat-le-Fort et s'étandit sous l'influence des barons Lusigians qui construisirent le château original vers l'année 1000. Le village souffra beaucoup de la 'Guerre de cent ans' et malheureusement il ne reste que très peu de cette culture. Pendant la Révolution Française, le village sera baptisé Peyrat-la-Montagne avant qu'il ne devienne Peyrat-le-Château.

Pendant le XVème siècle, la grande tour carrée, un des cinq portails du village médiéval, fut reconstruit et dèsormais contient 'le Musée de la Résistance'. Ce musée a trois salles et retrace l'histoire des mouvements de résistance et de son chef local, Georges Guingouin, pendant la deuxième guerre mondiale.

Quand le village fut fondé, Peyrat avait deux églises, une dediée à St Martin et l'autre a St Denis, le saint patron de France. L'église de St Denis fut detruite pendant la Terreur en 1793 et l'église de St Martin fut detruite en 1184 par un incendie. Une nouvelle église paroissiale fut construite en 1490. L'église fut complètement restorée en 1863 et un nouveau clocher fut ajouté en 1893. Tous les samedis pendant juillet et août, des concerts y ont lieu et d'autres dans les jardins de la Tour.

Son étang fut crée le 16 juin 1449, à l'origine pour l'eau des animaux et réservoir en cas d'incendie. Il offre une plage sablée, des lieux de pêche, pétanque, jeux pour enfants et piqueniques. Il est plein de truites, brochets et gardons et est classé au 1er rang pour site de pêche. Un permis de deux semaines coute €32. (forfait de 2010)

Les moulins à eau sont très nombreux dans la région ce qui montre l'abondance et l'importance de l'eau dans le Limousin. Cela nous permet d'avoir une campagne si verte et riche.

Les chemins de randonnée y sont aussi nombreux dont certains commencent à notre porte. Ceux-ci son clairemont demarqués et des cartes sont fournis par l'Office de Tourisme de Peyrat-Le-Château. De fantastiques routes cyclistes de différentes longueurs et difficultés sont partout dans le Limousin. Un centre équestre près de chez nous offre de l'équitation et la location de vélos
pour tout âge et niveaux.

Un marché a lieu tous les lundis, jeudis et samedis sur la place principale. Le village a aussi quelques bars et restaurants.

En étant au centre du Limousin, nous sommes faciles d'accès à différents lieux d'intérêts. Cliquez sur les images à droite pour voir nos visites favorites.

click an image to see it larger